Welcome to our website which we hope you will find useful and informative. We hope that it will provide you with a taste of some of the learning opportunities and adventures that your child may experience with us as they grow in our school family and community in the years ahead.
At St Antonys we believe that we are all sharing a faith journey as we grow and develop as part of God’s Family
Our school Mission statement is very important to us, it underpins all that we do;
‘God is at the heart of our school. St Antony’s provides caring classes helping to create confident, capable, happy learners who have a strong relationship with their community. We encourage all children that through hard work they will achieve their potential making the world a better place. At St Antonys we are striving to respect, accept and forgive.’
We believe in a broad and balanced curriculum where each child’s unique talents are both developed and celebrated. We aim to prepare children to be successful learners who enjoy learning. We also help children to gain the essential skills that will prepare them to be happy, healthy and confident individuals and responsible citizens of the future.
Miss Chris Curtis
According to archives, St. Antony’s School has its origin in the House of the Sisters of the Poor Servants of the Mother of God in Stag Lane, Buckhurst Hill. Henrietta, the Dowager Duchess of Newcastle, foundress and benefactress of St. Antony’s, started a small school for five children there in 1894. In the following year, the first school building was erected on the present school site in Mornington Road, Woodford Green. It was described in the “Catholic Standard and Ransomer” as the “Iron School”.
By 1901 “The Iron School” could no longer house all those who wished to avail themselves of Catholic Elementary Education and the Duchess erected the first brick building. This consisted of one large room divided into two by a glass partition. That year the Duchess invited one of the sisters from the Convent of the Holy Family in Mornington Road to teach these pupils who, by now, numbered about twelve. Accordingly, Sister Celestine became the first Headteacher.
Over the next three decades, the number of pupils increased to over 120. A new building, comprising two additional classrooms was completed in 1936, bringing the total accommodation to four classrooms, a large parish hall, offices and a playground behind the school. Sister Dolores became Headteacher in 1942.
September 1964 heralded the beginning of a further extension. On completion, all the Junior classes were accommodated in four classrooms forming a block, connected by “a fine corridor and imposing entrance hall”, to the original corridor housing the three Infants rooms. All the latter had access to the playground via French doors.
In addition, a long awaited staff room was built and the cloakroom accommodation and toilets were modernised. In 1974, Miss Angela Meyler became Headteacher and retired 21 years later in July 1995. The present Headteacher is Miss Chris Curtis. We are now a two form entry school with a 26 part time place nursery.